Who’s Fighting Whom Anyway?

Yesterday we moved from St. Augustine to Yemassee, South Carolina. We’re at a stunningly beautiful Thousand Trails preserve called The Oaks at Point South. The sites are small, but the park is immaculate and, true to its name, filled with live oak trees. We’re base camping in this park for three weeks, since it’s situated almost exactly halfway between Charleston, SC and Savannah, GA.

I was a little behind on my work, so I decided to spend the drive catching up. Now that we have a Sprint Overdrive, I can literally work wherever I go, as long as I can get a phone signal. Since we’re planning to spend several days in Charleston, I decided to start researching my “Charleston Visitor Guide” article. I just love when my assignments align with my personal goals!

Anyway, I learned something really interesting in my research. Charleston was attacked by a joint coalition of French and Spanish forces during Queen Anne’s War in 1706. Those forces sailed from St. Augustine. Really? I never learned that in all my trips to St. Augustine. So I went back to the internet to see what the Fort Matanzas site said about Queen Anne’s War. Sure enough, the Fort’s main purpose was defending the Spanish St. Augustine from British invaders during Queen Anne’s War. Where did the British sail from? Charleston!

It’s kind of cool that we ended up going directly from St. Augustine to Charleston, because otherwise I probably would have lost the details during our travels. But now I’m really curious…how much is history tainted according to who’s telling it? I’m sure that both stories are correct: St. Augustine was protecting itself from the British and Charleston was protecting itself from the Spanish…but both cities leave out the part where they were actively attacking the other.

Military history will add a new dimension to our travels. I’m interested to hear what stories are told in other cities.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

